Meet The Author: Rosalyn Eves, Blood Rose Rebellion - Interview + Giveaway

Hi Everyone!

Welcome Back! I have with me today Rosalyn Eves, author of Blood Rose Rebellion, one of my MOST Anticipated releases of the year! Pitched as perfect for fans of Red Queen, Blood Rose Rebellion revolves around a girl who has the power to BREAK Magic Spells and the revolution in causes.

It looks GORGEOUS, and sounds even better (if that's possible) and I CANNOT wait for March to get here so I can jump in!

Welcome to the blog, Rosalyn, and thank SO MUCH for agreeing to come!

We'd Love To Get To Know More About You:

1. Do you have any pets? Are you a cat person or a dog person?

I don’t, though my kids keep asking for a dog! But three kids is enough for now.

2. If you could have written any book in the world, which would it be?

Ooh, that’s a tough one. There are lots of authors I really admire (Jane Austen’s eye for social nuance, Leigh Bardugo’s worlds, Lois Bujold’s intricate theologies), but I’m going to go with Katherine Arden’s The Bear and the Nightingale, because that’s the most recent book I wish I’d written—the writing is effortlessly gorgeous, the history seamlessly blended with the world mythology.

3. This or That:
-- Chinese or Italian Food

-- Stilettos or Wedges
Wedges (I can’t walk in stilettos!)

And Now, Moving Onto Your Masterpiece:

4. How did you get the idea for Blood Rose Rebellion?
I lived in Hungary for a year and a half in my twenties and fell in love with the country and the culture. When I decided I wanted to write a Victorian era fantasy, it seemed like a natural setting. I was also interested in playing with the chosen one narrative—creating a character who, far from possessing unusually strong power, does not have power at all. Those two things came together as the genesis for the story.

5. If you could give one piece of advice to your main characters, what would it be?

I’d tell Anna to slow down a little and think before she acts. She isn’t always good at that.

6. If Blood Rose Rebellion had a theme song, it would be?

I still haven’t found a song that captures the book perfectly, but Imagine Dragon’s “Demon” comes close.
Eves author photoRosalyn Eves grew up in the Rocky Mountains, dividing her time between reading books and bossing her siblings into performing her dramatic scripts. As an adult, the telling and reading of stories is still one of her favorite things to do. When she’s not reading or writing, she enjoys spending time with her chemistry professor husband and three children, watching British period pieces, or hiking through the splendid landscape of southern Utah, where she lives. She dislikes housework on principle.
She has a PhD in English from Penn State, which means she also endeavors to inspire college students with a love for the English language. Sometimes it even works.

Rosalyn is represented by Josh Adams of Adams literary.

Blood Rose Rebellion (Blood Rose Rebellion, #1)Title: Blood Rose Rebellion (Blood Rose Rebellion #1)
Author: Rosalyn Eves
Publication Date: March 28th 2017
Publisher: Knopf Books For Young Readers (Random House)
Part of a Series?: Yes, Book 1/3 of the Blood Rose Rebellion Trilogy
Buy Links: Amazon || The Book Depository || Barnes and Noble
Blurb Description: The thrilling first book in a YA fantasy trilogy for fans of Red Queen. In a world where social prestige derives from a trifecta of blood, money, and magic, one girl has the ability to break the spell that holds the social order in place.
Sixteen-year-old Anna Arden is barred from society by a defect of blood. Though her family is part of the Luminate, powerful users of magic, she is Barren, unable to perform the simplest spells. Anna would do anything to belong. But her fate takes another course when, after inadvertently breaking her sister’s debutante spell—an important chance for a highborn young woman to show her prowess with magic—Anna finds herself exiled to her family’s once powerful but now crumbling native Hungary.
Her life might well be over.
In Hungary, Anna discovers that nothing is quite as it seems. Not the people around her, from her aloof cousin Noémi to the fierce and handsome Romani Gábor. Not the society she’s known all her life, for discontent with the Luminate is sweeping the land. And not her lack of magic. Isolated from the only world she cares about, Anna still can’t seem to stop herself from breaking spells.
As rebellion spreads across the region, Anna’s unique ability becomes the catalyst everyone is seeking. In the company of nobles, revolutionaries, and Romanies, Anna must choose: deny her unique power and cling to the life she’s always wanted, or embrace her ability and change that world forever. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment