A Brilliant Future New York // REVIEW: The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

Title: The Thousandth Floor (The Thousandth Floor #1)
Author: Katharine McGee
Publication Date: August 30th 2016
Publisher: Harper Collins
Part of a Series?: Yes, Book 1/2 of The Thousandth Floor Duology
I Got A Copy Through: Harper Collins India (THANK YOU!)
Buy Links: Amazon IN || Amazon US || Amazon UK || The Book Depository || Barnes and Noble || Wordery || Kobo || Google Play Books || Infibeam || Snapdeal
Blurb Description: New York City as you’ve never seen it before. A thousand-story tower stretching into the sky. A glittering vision of the future, where anything is possible—if you want it enough.
Welcome to Manhattan, 2118.
A hundred years in the future, New York is a city of innovation and dreams. But people never change: everyone here wants something…and everyone has something to lose.
Leda Cole’s flawless exterior belies a secret addiction—to a drug she never should have tried and a boy she never should have touched.
Eris Dodd-Radson’s beautiful, carefree life falls to pieces when a heartbreaking betrayal tears her family apart.
Rylin Myers’s job on one of the highest floors sweeps her into a world—and a romance—she never imagined…but will her new life cost Rylin her old one?
Watt Bakradi is a tech genius with a secret: he knows everything about everyone. But when he’s hired to spy by an upper-floor girl, he finds himself caught up in a complicated web of lies.
And living above everyone else on the thousandth floor is Avery Fuller, the girl genetically designed to be perfect. The girl who seems to have it all—yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have.
Debut author Katharine McGee has created a breathtakingly original series filled with high-tech luxury and futuristic glamour, where the impossible feels just within reach. But in this world, the higher you go, the farther there is to fall…. 

Certain things you should know about me:
1. I am a Gossip Girl JUNKIE
2. Drama is my THING - In books (and sometimes IRL)

So, the minute I heard about Katharine McGee's The Thousandth Floor, described as the PERFECT read for fans of Gossip Girl, I knew I HAD to have it. 

In Short, The Thousandth Floor was an addictive, futuristic drama filled book that I absolutely loved, just as I expected I would. 

Image result for the thousandth floor katharine mcgee

Avery Fuller is your resident Golden Girl. She has the perfect everything - the hair, the face, the clothes, the friends and even the perfect home, the penthouse of a Thousand  floor building in New York City. There's only one thing wrong about Avery Fuller and its that she wants, with all her heart, the one boy she can never have.

Set in 2118, The Thousandth Floor revolves around the residents of a high rise that spans to a thousand floors in New York City. One of my favourite things about the book was the tower, and all the technology surrounding it. There were hover crafts and automated closets and every surface was a smart touch surface (like automatically heated floors and coffee tables that worked like tabs). 

The tech could scan your body temperature, show you what clothes would look like on you, create private bubbles and a whole lot of other stuff. There were contacts in your eyes you never needed to take of that could send messages, call your friends and pay for anything you might need. The parties were INSANE. 

In case the above rant wasn't enough, Imagine New York, the hippest place IN THE WORLD with advanced technology, a hundred years from now, AND IT WAS AWESOME.

Another thing I loved were the characters. I kept comparing them to Gossip Girl because well, I'm a junkie and I couldn't resist, and I loved how flawed, different and yet perfect they all were. It was an insane combination in a ruthless environment all of which was so perfect for Manhattan 2118.

If there was one thing that the book was lacking, it would HAVE to be that there just wasn't enough BITCHINESS or backstabbing or take-downs as I would have liked (or any, actually) but after the set up for book two, I'm sure my hopes are going to be fulfilled there. 

A BRILLIANTLY planned novel in a futuristic setting that will leave you wanting more. stars. 

Katharine McGeeKatharine McGee is originally from Houston, Texas. She studied English and French literature at Princeton University and has an MBA from Stanford. It was during her years in New York, working as an editor by day and writing by night, that she began a manuscript about life in a futuristic skyscraper. The Thousandth Floor is her first novel.

WHICH CITY IS YOUR FAVORITE? What are your favorite books set in New York? It's only the BEST city ever and I LOVE reading books set there!
Have you read this book yet? 

No comments:

Post a Comment