BLOG TOUR: Secrets, Lies and Scandals by Amanda Morgan - Review & Giveaway

Title: Secrets, Lies, & Scandals
Author: Amanda K. Morgan
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Release Date: July 5th 2016
Genre: Young Adult, Thriller, Mystery
Synopsis: In the tradition of I Know What You Did Last Summer and How to Get Away with Murder, five teens must overcome their paranoia in order to keep their teacher’s death a secret in this fast-paced suspense thriller.
Nothing ruins summer vacation like a secret…especially when it involves a dead teacher.
Ivy used to be on top of the social ladder, until her ex made that all go away. She has a chance to be Queen Bee again, but only if the rest of the group can keep quiet.
Tyler has always been a bad boy, but lately he’s been running low on second chances. There’s no way he’s going to lose everything because someone couldn’t keep their mouth shut.
Kinley wouldn’t describe herself as perfect, though everyone else would. But perfection comes at a price, and there is nothing she wouldn’t do to keep her perfect record—one that doesn’t include murder charges.
Mattie is only in town for the summer. He wasn’t looking to make friends, and he definitely wasn’t looking to be involved in a murder. He’s also not looking to be riddled with guilt for the rest of his life…but to prevent that he’ll have to turn them all in.
Cade couldn’t care less about the body, or about the pact to keep the secret. The only way to be innocent is for someone else to be found guilty. Now he just has to decide who that someone will be.
With the police hot on the case, they don’t have much time to figure out how to trust each other. But in order to take the lead, you have to be first in line…and that’s the quickest way to get stabbed in the back.
As the blurb describes, Secrets, Lies and Scandals does have a very How To Get Away With Murder feel to it. I ABSOLUTELY adore that show, okay? And pretty much any other Shonda Rhimes show, but the thing I love most about HTGAWM is the sheer Panic and Uncertainty that all the characters have, and I was really expecting that from Secrets, Lies and Scandals!
And, for the most part, it delivered!

The last book I read with over three POV's (points of view) was Seven Ways We Lie by Riley Redgate (which had seven) and so getting to know these characters was a lot simpler. 

Secrets, Lies and Scandal starts off with such simplicity, it makes it abnormally easy to switch between characters without wondering what happened to them and who that particular character was in between chapters. All the characters are made to perfectly fit those high school overdone cliques - the delinquent, the nerd, the fallen queen bee, the new boy and the rich kid. Each of them also had their own complicated (and quite awesome) story-lines going on, which just added to the essence of the story.

I loved how in the middle of the book, when everyone slowly realizes that someone or the other is going to go down for the murder, the backstabbing, the panic and the uncertainty that ensured, because isn't that what MURDERERS are all about?

There were also a couple of things about Secrets, Lies and Scandals that annoyed me, such as the fast paced relationship of Kinley and Tyler. Another Another thing was the voices of all their characters, and that for the first half they were extremely vocal about 'how their lives were ruined' and other such over the top things that no teenager says any more. 

All in all, a book definitely worth a read!  

 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg
Follow the Secrets, Lies & Scandals by Amanda K. Morgan Blog Tour and don't miss anything! Click on the banner to see the tour schedule.

Amanda K. Morgan is a freelance writer living in Nashville, TN. She covers events and works as a technical writer when she isn't working on her YA novels.

At age 15, Amanda finished her first novel and continued to write in college, where she graduated Magna Cum Laude with a degree in English and an emphasis in Creative Writing.

Amanda is an avid volleyball player and spends time playing both indoors and out. When Amanda isn't writing, she enjoys being entirely too busy and trying new things. Endeavors as of late include appearances in music videos, TV, and movies, rock climbing, and attending as many concerts and shows as her schedule allows.

Amanda headed up the Do The Write Thing for Nashville Project (with co-organizers/authors Victoria Schwab and Myra McEntire), which tapped some of the biggest authors, editors, and agents in the industry for an online auction that raised over $70,000 for Midsouth flood relief.

Rules & Conditions in the Rafflecopter | Open INTERNATIONALLY

No comments:

Post a Comment